The Annemarie Opprecht - Foundation was established in 1998 and is sponsored by Annemarie Opprecht, a Swiss philanthropist.

The specific purpose of the Foundation is to promote, at an international level, medical or medical-related research in the field of Parkinson's disease.

Therefore, the Foundation presents at regular intervals the Annemarie Opprecht Parkinson Award, in amount of 100,000 Swiss francs.

The next award will be presented for the eighth time in 2021.

Previous awards were given in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2008, 2012, 2015 and 2018.

Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Peter Gurtner, Switzerland
President of the Foundation

Prof. Dr. med. Mathias Sturzenegger, Switzerland
President of the Prize Committee

Theo Prinz, Business Economist FH, Switzerland

Dr. med. Claude Vaney, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. phil. Hans Rudolf Widmer, Switzerland


OBT AG, Rorschach

Latest News

The 2021 Award has been launched; the deadline for submission for the applicants will be May 31st, 2021.

Award presentation: Joint Annual Meeting of the Swiss Neurological Society and Swiss Society for Behaviooural Neurology: November 18th - 19th, 2021 at Congress Centre Kursaal, Interlaken, Switzerland.


Submission for the 2021 Award: May 31st, 2021.

Award Winners

2018 Award
Prof. Paul Krack

2015 Award
Prof. Heiko Braak

2012 Award
Prof. Lorenz Studer

2008 Award
Prof. John Hardy
Prof. Andrew B. Singleton

2005 Award
Prof. Stanley Fahn
Prof. Zbigniew K.Wszolek

2002 Award
Prof. José A. Obeso

1999 Award
Prof. Anthony H.V. Schapira
Prof. Pierre Pollak